The West of England Local Action Group

West of England LEADER Structure

The diagram shows the organisations involved and how the scheme works.
Click here to enlarge.



The programme is funded by Defra and the European Commission through the Rural Development Programme for England (RDPE), administered by the Rural Payments Agency. Locally the fund is managed by a partnership body referred to as the West of England Local Action Group. The Local Action Group is supported by the programme team hosted by the West of England Rural Network and the accountable body will be Bath and North East Somerset Council. The diagram also shows the organisations involved in the LAG.

The main duties of the LAG are:

  • Overseeing the direction and delivery of the programme
  • Providing local knowledge and representation to inform the programme
  • Understanding the policies and procedures for the operation of the programme
  • Make formal decisions on which projects are approved for funding
  • Monitoring and evaluating the progress and achievements

Our current LAG members are:

Deborah White Avon Local Councils Association
Dr Lucy Rogers Avon Wildlife Trust
Les Kew Bath and North East Somerset Council
Rosaleen Courtney Bath College
Chris Lyons Business West
Graham Clark CLA
Andrew Rainsford Diocese of Bath & Wells
Mark O’Sullivan Federation of Small Businesses
Jon Clark Forest of Avon Trust
Gary Rumbold FWAG South West
Jim Hardcastle Mendip Hills AONB
Matthew Uren National Farmers Union
Helen Sharp National Trust
Peter Burden North Somerset Council
Katherine Morris South Gloucestershire Council
Georgie Bigg West of England Rural Network
Richard Spalding Winterbourne Medieval Barn

Should you wish to find out more about the LAG and its members please contact us.

Members Login

Other LEADER Groups

Register for our E-Newsletter